S - Type Rust Problems

S - Type Driver 2022

Hello

Im new to the Jaguar club I was hoping someone on here could give me some guidance on my much loved 2003 2.5 Litre V6 Jaguar S Type which has covered 65,000 miles. I took it for a service today at a trusted garage who called me back into the workshop because they had discovered that both rear jacking points, rear sub frame and sills are badly rotten, I asked them to estimate to cost for the rust to be repaired and was informed it would cost within the £2000 mark and considering I paid £2600 for the car in December I’m not sure I’m prepared to pay for the work to be carried out.

I bought the car as my first car and have been learning to drive in it, I’m very close to passing my test so need to make a decision on the cars future fairly promptly but under no circumstances do I want it to be scrapped as the interior and general bodywork is in very good condition, if anybody has any advice I’d greatly appreciate you passing it on because I’m really struggling on weather I should sell the car on with an MOT or sell it for spares and repairs the garage recommended I sold it on whilst I can still get some of my money back out of it.

Many Thanks 

Cameron 

My first bit of advice would be to get another couple of quotes for the repairs from other garages & then decide what action to take then. You might also be better off trading your jag in for another car in a part exchange deal with a reputable dealer who ,even in view of the cost to them of doing the repairs on your jag, might give you a better deal knowing they are going to make a profit on the car that they sell you.

1 hour ago, walter said: